When you makes plans…

I feel like now more than ever that sometimes with making a plan comes risks and with risks comes you willing to allow yourself open to disappointments and let downs. I like a good plan, i like to know what is going to happen during my day, whats coming up in my week and what my weekend may look like and although its all relatively the same each week and I also realised that at the end of last year I needed to take some risks so that I didn’t know what each week looked like, so that I could feel like trusting God in the unknown is a thrilling part of being a Christian. Although…there are many unknowns in life that’s for sure!

I made plans this year to do stuff. I made plans to travel and to take a significant time away from my “normal” and take a risk and do things I wouldn’t usually. Everything came together perfectly,  in fact I was about to buy my tickets to America and then the world was hit with something….Coronavirus AKA COVID 19 AKA Rona AKA The virus.

We watched China go into lock down and felt sorry that it had reached that point, then Italy, then our Australian Government saying that we have shutdown our boarders and now we are at a point where we can no longer travel interstate or meet at the pub or catch up with a group of friends at the local cafe….Did anyone know that this was going to happen? No, Did God? Yes. So this must mean something – A God who allows things to happen for a reason. A God who is over everything in this world.

Revelation 1:17

“Then He placed His right hand on me and said: Do not be afraid. I am the First and the Last.”

And yes – we can still have hope for the risks we were willing to take this year but also I can still have hope that despite all plans made for my year and what I was hoping to do I can find hope in knowing that my God has other ideas for what 2020 was going to look like for me – in fact for you too. Although I feel disappointed and torn apart that I don’t get to have the experiences and live out those plans I had counted on and was soooo looking forward to, I do know for sure that there must be something else just waiting and that God’s timing is perfect. He is the First and the Last. He knows and has a plan.

2 Peter 3:8-9

“ But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑